Riley looks back on her day on Capitol Hill

Image

When I heard we would be talking to Chellie Pingree, Susan Collins and Angus King, I was sort of nervous. I mean almost no one gets to do that.

Then when we got there, I was less nervous and more excited. On Wednesday, we went to the Lincoln Memorial; it was pretty cool to see Lincoln and where Martin Luther King Jr. gave his “I have a dream” speech.

In the Air and Space Museum, I learned a lot. After we had a briefing and role play; since I love performing, it was so cool. The next day, we saw Susan Collins. I was nervous that I would mess up, but we did awesome.

Soon, we went to see Chellie Pingree, but had to wait for a while before she came in. That and the lunch we had afterwards were a lot of fun. Our last visit was with Senator Angus King—we talked with his staff for a while and I was really tired. We took a photo with Angus King. Overall, it was a great experience.

Now we’re headed off to the Capitol for a tour with Senator King’s staff!

~Riley Cerabona

Leave a Reply

