What to know before you go: words of advice from Leanna Healey

Family Advocacy Day is a day I will remember for the rest of my life. The new experiences, people and places were all astounding! Although I was a bit stressed before I met with the senators and representatives of my state, I knew that all the helpful instructions I was given would help me for my meetings, and I was fully prepared for what was ahead of me.

For you guys going, I’m going to pass along some tips that I didn’t think about until I was there!

  • Bring two pairs of shoes to Capitol Hill! One to walk in (sneakers) and one to slip on right before the meeting (loafers, heels, generally your professional/ uncomfortable shoes) otherwise you might end up with horrible blisters.
  • Dress lightly. Light fabrics, airy clothes, etc. It is hot and humid!
  • Bring a good camera.
  • Keep a journal. That was something that I didn’t do, and I regret now.
  • Drink LOTS of water, you don’t want to get dehydrated!
  • See as many museums and go on as many tours as you can!

Enjoy yourselves!

~ Leanna

Leave a Reply

